SNSA Congress Committee 2022

Patrick Lekgwara – Chairman, SNSA 2022 Congress
John Ouma – President, SNSA
Anthony Figaji – SNSA President Elect
Llewellyn Padayachy – Scientific Chair
Coceka Mfundisi – SNSA Treasurer
Rohen Harrichandparsad –Exhibition Chair

Scientific Review Committee to be confirmed


International Faculty

Aaron Cohen-Gadol (Cohen)

Dr Aaron Cohen-Gadol (Cohen) performed his undergraduate and medical school trainings at the University of California at San Diego and University of Southern California, respectively. He then completed his residency training at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. He also completed fellowship training in two subspecialties: epilepsy surgery (Yale University) and skull base/cerebrovascular surgery (University of Arkansas).
Read More
Aliasgar Moiyadi

Dr Aliasgar Moiyadi is Professor and presently heads the neurosurgical oncology services at the Tata Memorial Centre (TMC), Mumbai, India. He completed his neurosurgical training from the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bangalore, a premier neuroscience training institute in India. He was instrumental in establishing the Neurosurgical Oncology services at TMC, one of the few neurosurgical departments in India catering to neuro-oncology exclusively.
Read More
Chethan Venkatasubba Rao

Dr Chethan Venkatasubba Rao is the Section Head of Vascular Neurology and Neurocritical Care, the William T Butler Endowed Chair for Distinguished Faculty, Associate Professor of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Center for Space Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, and the Medical Director of Stroke and Neurocritical Care ICU at Baylor St Luke’s Medical Center. He is a board-certified neurologist, vascular neurologist, and neurointensivist.
Read More
Claude Hemphill

Dr Claude Hemphill is Professor of Neurology and Neurological Surgery at the University of California, San Francisco and Chief of Neurology and Director of Neurocritical Care at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital. His research focusses on advanced neuromonitoring, informatics, and management of intracerebral haemorrhage. He is a founding director and Past-President of the Neurocritical Care Society and is a member of the editorial board of Neurocritical Care.
Read More
Francesco DiMeco

Professor Francesco DiMeco is Director of the Department of Neurosurgery at Fondazione Istituto Neurologico C Besta and full Professor of Neurosurgery at University of Milan. Focussing on neurosurgical oncology, he has published more than 190 peer-reviewed papers and several book chapters (h-index: 60, Scopus).
Read More
Keki Edulji Turel

Dr Keki Edulji Turel (M.B., M.S. (Neurosurgery), FAIS, FICG, FIMSA, FRCS (Ed), FACS (USA), FICS (USA), FABCNS (USA), FAANaOS (USA), Diplomat, American Board of Clinical Neurological Surgery, Diplomate, American Academy of Neurological and Orthopaedic Medicine and Surgery) is formerly Professor of Neurosurgery at government-run JJ Hospital (1977-1993). Later, Professor of Neurosurgery at Bombay Hospital, and head of department (1993-2011), now Professor Emeritus.
Read More
Geirmund Unsgård

Geirmund Unsgård, MD, PHD, is Professor Emeritus at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, in Trondheim, Norway. Professor Unsgård has been a professor at Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) for 30 years, where he also was Dean of the Medical Faculty for 6 years. He was Chief of the Neurosurgical Department and Head of the Neurodivision, St Olav University Hospital, for 22 years.
Read More



Abstract submission opens

Abstract submission deadline EXTENDED

Notification to authors

Online registration opens


Congress Organiser: African Agenda

Sedicka Allies
Senior Project Manager

Email Address:

Telephone: +27 (0)21 683 2934